The Train to Nowhere

You see a train in the distance,
You see it coming towards you,
You can’t gauge its speed,
But one day you know it shall come to you.

Do you stay where you are,
And wait for the train to arrive?
Or do you run towards it,
And rush to take your place?

And are you really sure it is your train,
When you start running for it?
All trains look alike,
So how can you be so sure?

I boarded such a train once,
And in a rush to board it,
Neither did I notice the name outside,
Nor did I see the destination.

I asked the passengers inside,
And wonder what I heard,
Everyone inside was equally clueless,
As to where the train was headed.

All that they could tell me was,
This was the last stop of the train,
No more stops were scheduled,
And I was bound to it for good.

So I sat down and counted the minutes,
Socialized with the passengers,
In the hope of finding someone,
With whom time could be spent.

Minutes turned into hours,
Hours into days,
Days into weeks,
And weeks into a lifetime.

I am still aboard,
The Train to Nowhere,
In this train I have spent my life,
And am yet to reach where I thought I would.

Or was the journey and not the destination,
What I was really looking for?
Do I regret getting up in a hurry?
The answer is not as easy as you think.

Explore posts in the same categories: Poetry

7 Comments on “The Train to Nowhere”

  1. amit Says:

    it iss an age old thing which we overlook. we say it well , but fail to realize its importance. its always the journey that makes the difference and in the end when we do reach our destination , what will matter is how we have come along… whether we made friends on the way, whether the path taken was right and safe or just if our journey was worth it. nice thought indeed

  2. Ansuman Says:

    It feels as if you are a confused soul at IIM. As usual, more like prose 🙂

  3. HereAndGone Says:

    Travellers without a known destination, we are.

  4. bhavika Says:

    hey stopped by after a loooonnnggg time 😛

    the train of life
    of oblivions,chance encounters, bliss, pathos and strife.

    🙂

  5. Priyabrat Says:

    DUDE !! This is the best poem you have ever written .. and sure among the best I have read so far …
    Seriously, it’s fkin awesome !

    I am sure your readers fathom it right
    and in the hope that I took your line
    I stop by to say that was more than fine …..

    Simple and deep .. gud.

    • Arnav Says:

      Thanks a lot man. Nice poetic way to comment 🙂 There is a lot of meaning in this poem of mine, you too may relate to it.

  6. badri katha Says:

    excellent thought and really well put..


Leave a comment